Blog Talk Radio Interviews

Here we are at the beginning of 2011 and I haven’t posted since last November.  I know why.  It’s because I got despondent again struggling to get a my book ‘Olga – A Daughter’s Tale’ picked up by either a literary agent ora  publisher.  I’ve sent hundreds of query letters but either I get no response or a rejection letter.   I self published it on Lulu.com a couple of years ago and nothing much happened there either.

But recently I discovered Smashwords which takes all the hard work out of formatting your book/s yourself and formats it/them for you, FREE,  into various formats for e-readers.  So I published on Smashwords and priced my book at $1.99 – hardly a fortune, but there were no takers.  It’s true what I read on the internet.  Generally speaking people wont spend money on an new author even though I’ve got some really good reviews.  So I got disheartened again, but it’s a New Year, so I decided to take my own advice in a previous post.  Never give up if you believe in what you’ve written.  

Anyway, I’ve now offered  my book for FREE on Smashwords and guess what?  I’m getting quite a view downloads so I’ll give it away for a while and then increase it to $0.99 when no one’s looking.  I have a plan to try and reach 50,000 downloads on Smashwords by the middle of the year.  I’m obviously not in it for the money!  

I’ve been looking at  other ways to promote my book and I’m going to try doing some Blog Talk Radio  Interviews.  This article  is very informative about how to give a successful interview.  When I do my first interview I’ll let you know how I get on.

This entry was posted in ebooks, Marketing Strategies for Self Published Books, Publishing, self publishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

